Alex Brown signs 3-book deal with Boldwood Books
20240213
Books

International No. 1 bestselling author Alex Brown has signed a new 3-book deal with Boldwood Books. The series, described as a coming-of-middle-age trilogy, will be perfect for fans of Shirley Valentine and Mamma Mia.

Boldwood publishing director Isobel Akenhead acquired World English rights from Rowan Lawton at The Soho Agency. The first novel, Bring Me Sunshine (June 6th, 2024), is the story of cleaner Gina, who, after her husband of twenty-seven years lets her down one time too many, has had enough. Deciding to choose herself, she embarks on a transformative solo journey to break free from the monotony of her life. She returns to Kalosiros, the Greek island where she holidayed in her youth, and where she had her first romance with the gorgeous Nico. Encountering two kindred spirits in Rosie and Deedee, the women bond over art classes and cocktails, renewing their lust for life and a shared quest to find Gina’s lost love. Together, they navigate the challenges of middle-age, self-discovery, and the liberating power of skinny-dipping. Will Gina find love again with her teenage sweetheart Nico, her husband, or with someone new?

Akenhead said: “The team at Boldwood and I are so thrilled to have the chance to work with the absolutely fabulous Alex Brown. She’s an author I’ve long been a fan of, and this is an escapist, relatable, hilarious story which I know readers will completely love. I feel confident Boldwood is the publisher to take her career to the next level and right to the top of the charts, where she absolutely belongs.”

Brown said: “I’m delighted to be working with Isobel and the incredibly dynamic Boldwood team. Their ambitious and exciting new plan for the next stage of my career was an extremely tempting offer and one that I couldn’t refuse. I can’t wait to share three more books with my wonderfully loyal readers and welcome many new ones.”